Christmas in the UK

“It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!” If London does anything right, it’s Christmas! Take a walk down Oxford and Regent street and you will see all the pretty lights and the decked out window displays of Selfridges and John Lewis. Alternatively, you can head over to Hyde Park and check out the Christmas market! No matter what your interests are, there’s so much to do in London to get you in the Christmas spirit – they even have skating rinks set up around the city!

December was a busy month. Here’s what I’ve been up to:

  • Just before the holidays, we had our work Christmas party, which was massive! I can honestly say it was the best party I had ever gone to! It was basically set up like a giant night club with free food stalls and alcohol and a DJ playing till 6 o’clock in the morning! Groove Armada was even supposed to play, but we’re thinking they backed out last minute.
  • Because I live so close to central, on the weekends, I like to walk down to London Bridge or St. Paul’s and soak up the history along the way.
  • Alternatively, I’d take the tube to Oxford street and look at the Christmas window displays (for those of you who don’t know, my school education is in visual merchandising). My favorite shops to look at (year-round) are Fortnum & Mason on Piccadilly and Selfridges on Oxford Street.
  • Spent most Friday nights at the Cherry Tree pub with the Deliveroo gang.
  • After work one evening, a bunch of us went to Winter Wonderland (the Christmas markets) in Hyde Park for some mulled cider/wine and bratwurst.
  • On Christmas Eve day, I took a train up to Windsor to see Windsor Castle.  It was on my bucket list to do before leaving London, and having nothing else to do on that day, I decided to kill two birds with one stone.
  • On Christmas Day, wanting to see the city asleep, I walked up to Piccadilly Circus and Westminster (all transportation was closed). I couldn’t believe how busy it still was! (I guess everyone else had the same idea haha). In the evening, after a Skype call from home, I had some friends over for Orphan’s Christmas, which consisted of playing drinking games and eating lots of appetisers.

I will admit, as it was my first Christmas away from home, that it was a hard month. But with the support of my friends here and my family back home, I managed to make it though! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

